In the article “Finding Your Book Interrupted … By the Tablet You Read It On” by Julie Bosman and Matt Richtel, the pros and cons of e-books and the devices available for e-reading are discussed.  I do not personally own an e-reading device, but if I did get one, it would have to be something without internet access capabilities.  I do not enjoy reading very much.  It has to be an excellent, captivating book for me to continue turning pages or I easily become disinterested.  There is a fine stack of unfinished reads in my room back home to prove it.  With a Kindle Fire or Tablet Reader, I would be hopeless.  

My ADD kicks in when there is technology in my hands and I cannot help but have eight tabs open at the same time on my laptop or play four different games on my phone in twenty minutes.  I find it impossible to focus when, with just a few quck movements of my fingers, I could be playing Heaven&Hell or Sudoku or looking up Dictionary.com’s word of the day.  I have severe trouble with online classes because of my “techno joy” and cannot read a text book unless I can hold it in my hands and flip pages and write notes on Post-its.  With any possibility of distraction, I will simply never get it done.  Studying is a precise process for me that includes turning off my cell phone and allowing myself minimal internet time.

A print book does not offer me the cripplingly constant disruption I find in online text books.  I am very fond of them and will never give them up.  But I can definitely see the appeal of the Kindle, allowing one to easily bring any book anywhere, and I would be delighted to receive it as a lovely gift, but I doubt I’ll ever buy one on my own dime.  I am simply far too attached to the simplicity of a printed on paper book to purposely pay to make my life more difficult with such distracting capabilities.

 

